Learn About Japan from Maps : Exploring Tokyo Metropolitan Area, Tokyo Center Area, the 23 Wards & Cities Within

Tokyo is a location that sees an enormous amount of foreign tourists every single year. With the olympics in 2020, there was even more eyes on this amazing location. With a population of over 14,000,000 people, it has the highest amount of people out of any prefecture across the whole of Japan as well as one of the largest population densities throughout the entire World. However, Tokyo is not a single entity, it's built up of multiple unique wards and cities including Tama and the Tokyo Islands. In this article, we're going to be looking into all of Tokyo's many intricacies. Let's learn about Tokyo via a map!

Tokyo's 23 Wards ①:Jonan, Jousai, Jouhoku, and Joto

Tokyo map tokyo 23 wards

Tokyo's 23 wards are typically split by 2 main ways. The first of those is Chiyoda, home to the imperial palace, split again north, east, south, and west.

Imperial Palace(Green):Chiyoda

Joto (east)(Pink):Taito City Koto City, Sumida City, Chuo City, Katsushika City, Edogawa City

Jonan (south)(Aqua):Minato City, Meguro City, Ota City, Shinagawa City

Josai (west)(Orange):Shinjuku CityNakano CityShibuya City, Suginami City, Nerima City, Setagaya City

Johoku (north)(Grey):Itabashi City, Kita City, Toshima CityBunkyo City, Arakawa City, Adachi City

Tokyo's 23 Wards ①City Centre, City Center Surrounding

Tokyo map tokyo 23 wards

Another way of separating the various districts and cities is through central business areas, known as the central, surrounding, and then finally cardinal areas.

Center(Green):Chiyoda City, Chuo City, Minato City

Surrounding(Yellow):Shinjuku City, Shibuya City, Bunkyo City, Toshima City

East(Pink):Koto City, Sumida City, Taito City, Arakawa City, Adachi City, Katsushika City, Edogawa City

South(Aqua):Shinagawa City, Meguro City, Ota City

West(Orange):Nerima City, Nakano City, Suginami City, Setagaya City

North(Grey):Kita City, Itabashi City

Tama: Cities and Towns Below Tokyo

Tama Tokyo map tokyo 23 wards

The Tama area is then further split into 3 different locations.

North Tama: Mitaka, Chofu, Koganei, Fuchu, Musashino, Komae, Higashimurayama, Kodaira, Kokubunji, Kunitachi, Higashiyamato, Kiyose, Higashikurume, Musashimurayama, NishitokyoTachikawa, Akishima

South Tama: Hachioji, Hino, Machida, Tama, Inagi

West Tama:Ome, Hinode, Hamura, Akiruno, Mizuho, Fussa, Hinohara, Okutama

Tokyo Islands

There are a total of 11 Tokyo Islands.

Izu Islands:Ōshima Island, Toshima, Niijima, Shikine-jima, Kozushima, Miyake Island, Mikurajima, Hachijō-jima, Aogashima

Ogasawara IslandsChichi-jimaHahajima Retto


Survey[Survey] Traveling to Japan