[Special Issue: Shinkansen] Tohoku Shinkansen Connecting Tokyo ~ Shin-Aomori

About Tohoku Shinkansen

Opened in June 1982, the Tohoku Shinkansen Line connects Tokyo to Shin-Aomori. It is the longest Shinkansen line within JR East.

Trains on Tohoku Shinkansen

The 4 types of trains are the Hayabusa (はやぶさ), Hayate (はやて), Yamabiko (やまびこ), and the Nasuno (なすの).

The Hayabusa

The Hayabusa runs between Tokyo and Shin-Aomori in a 3 hour time frame. It has a lot of leg room with a seat pitch of 1.04 meters. It is the fastest train in Japan with a max speed of 320km/h.

The Hayate

[Special Issue: Shinkansen] Tohoku Shinkansen Connecting Tokyo ~ Shin-Aomori

This train is called the Hayate. This is the major Shinkansen of the Tohoku region (northeast of Japan).

The Yamabiko

The Yamabiko runs between Tokyo and Morioka (Iwate Prefecture) or Tokyo and Sendai. It takes 3 hours and 12 minutes to reach Morioka from Tokyo and 2 hours 10 minutes to reach Sendai from Tokyo.

The Nasuno

The Nasuno runs from Tokyo to Koriyama (Fukushima Prefecture). It stops at every station until the last stop, Koriyama, which takes a total of 1 hour and 55 minutes. All seats are free seating in the evening as it is relatively vacant at that time of the day.


Survey[Survey] Traveling to Japan